Blogia
Coolenglish

Andres from Venezuela

Andres from Venezuela


When I went into the classroom to take the test, I was very confident.
 

                       Andres from Venezuela

When I was in my last year of high school, I had a tough test in physics. The night before I went to a party, so I didn't study. Of course, I got home too late to study. Well, the next morning I woke up and realized that I had that test, so on the way to school I tried to study, but it didn't help. I couldn't remember anything. I thought about cheating by putting everything into my calculator; however, I decided to write something down on a paper instead. When I went into the classroom to take the test, I was very confident. During the test, I needed the piece of paper on which I had written the answers. Unfortunately, at the very moment I looked at the paper, my teacher sat down next to me and caught me cheating. She took my test and told me that I had failed it. I was really embarrassed, especially because the teacher was a friend of mine. I'm sure that I learned something important from that incident.

1. – Skim the text put a tick (      ) on the topics or ideas that appear in the article. Put an “X” on those that do not appear.        

a) _____ Going to the university is very important

b) _____ studying before a test is fundamental

c) _____ Students should always be honest in a test

d) _____Teachers have to be comprehensive when a students is cheating

e) _____ students organizing a party for the holidays

 f) _____ Parents talking to their kids about drugs and alcohol  

2. – Scan the text and Answer true or false according to it. Write “T” on the sentences that are true and “F” on those that are false.

a) Andres was in his first year of high school _________

b) The boy did not go to any party and preferred staying home and study__________

c) Andres studied very hard for his test______

d) The kids in the story admits that he was not honest in the test ____________ 

e) The boy was a friend of the his teacher __________

f)  Andres says that he repents of what he did. _________

g) Andres had an accident on his way home __________  

3. - Use the context to help you choose the best meaning or synonym for each highlighted word. Circle the correct one from the list. (6 points) *

 “I had a tough test in physics.”           When he says tough he means:

a) Easy            b) Difficult            c) Long  

* “The next morning I woke up and realized that I had that test”          In this context Andres is saying that:   

a) That he never knew that he had to study for a test                 b) He completely forgot about the test              c) He remember that he had a test    

*I thought about cheating by putting everything into my calculator   According to the text cheating would mean:

a)       To try to remember information you need in a test.

b)       To look at your notes/ copybook when the teacher isn’t looking at you in a test

c)       To use the calculator to do a math exercise

* “I was really embarrassed, especially because the teacher was a friend of mine.”        A synonym of embarrassed would be:

A) Happy                            B) Ashamed                             c) Sad                                    d) Guilty 

4. - Choose the a suitable title for the text  

a)       The Teacher Caught Me Cheating b)        I Caught my Teacher Cheating c)       My Mother Caught my Cheating

0 comentarios