Blogia
Coolenglish

UNDERSTANDING “LOVE IS NOT ENOUGH CLIP”

SKIMMING QUESTIONS 

1. - IS IT A HAPPY/JOYFUL SITUATION?  

2. - IS DESMOND RICH MAN? 

 3. - IS THE CLIP ROMANTIC?  

4. - DOES DESMOND KEEP THE RING TO HIMSELF OR NOT?  

5. – WHO SOUNDS CONFUSED/BELWIDERED PENELOPE OR DESMOND?  

 SCANNING QUESTION 

1. - IS PENELOPE A RICH WOMAN? EXPLAIN 

2. - IS DESMOND AFRAID/ SCARED? EXPLAIN 

3. - WHY DOES PENELOPE SLAP DESMOND RIGHT ON THE FACE? GIVE REASONS  

4. - WHY IS PENELOPE CRYING? ELABORATE   

PENELOPE AND DESMOMD – “LOVE IS NOT ENOUGH” - SCRIPT

DESMOND [to himself]: I couldn't go through with it.

PENELOPE: What was that?

DESMOND: I can't do this.

PENELOPE: You can't do what?

DESMOND: Us. This. This relationship.

PENELOPE: What are you talking about?

DESMOND: How can I? I - I can't look after you. I haven't got a job. I don't have any -- I can't even afford 5 quid for a bloody photograph. You deserve someone better.

PENELOPE: I know what I deserve. I chose to be with you. I love you.

DESMOND: Love's not enough. Being a good man is not enough.

PENELOPE: What's this about, Des? Where's this coming from?

DESMOND: It's all happening too soon -- you moving in. You're painting rooms; you're changing things. I don't even like red. Why would you leave your flat, your expensive flat...

PENELOPE [slapping Desmond's face]: Don't do that. Don't you pretend you don't care. And don't you dare rewrite history. I left my expensive flat because you were too proud to live there, remember. If you want me to go -- if you want me to leave then don't make this about what I do or don't deserve. And have the decency to admit that you're doing this because you're a coward.

DESMOND: I'm sorry, Pen, but this -- we're not supposed to be together.

[Penelope walks away. Desmond throws the ring into the river.]

                                          FRIDAY 26TH, OCTOBER, 2007

I-) TRANSALATE and then FIND A SIMILAR EXPRESSION/WORD IN THE CONVERSATION

1. – “I’m not working at the moment” =                                                                      =

2. - “My decision is to be at your side” =                                                                     =                                                   

3. - “I dislike and hate a particular colour” =                                                               =

4. - “you are not being honest” =                                                                                 =

5. - “you need to be with another person” =                                                               =

6. - “Fucking” =                                                                                                           =

7. - “don’t invent excuses to make me go” =                                                             =    

8. - “you are not being brave” =                                                                                  =

9. - “I don’t have money” =                                                                                         =

II) Questions to be answered with script 

1. - Why is Penn so angry at Desmond?

2. - Why does Desmond want to leave Penelope Withmore?

3. - Does Desmond love Penelope? Explain

4. - Does Penelope have a little, cheap apartment?

5. - Why does Penelope say that Desmond is a wimp?  

    

6. - What happened at the end when Desmond says

“We are not supposed to be together"? What does that mean?

ROLE PLAY   

Writing task  

What do you think happened after Penelope went away?

Use your imagination and write a 10 – line paragraph about it.    

Clip_Youtube = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rlNQUFkqsLg 

0 comentarios